[WEEK 8] Mailing !

This week I dug into Botanics provided codesample for handling the emails.
As you may or may not know, we are trying to support replying on emails sent by the ticket system.

So let’s say if player X replies on your ticket, you get that reply also in your email inbox and you can easily reply on that email to post the reply on the ticket itself.

Now tbh, I never used IMAP before or any other email protocol, neither did I ever setup a mail server. I always tried to stay away from ’emails’, like it was something bad or evil šŸ˜€ Botanic however gave me a lot of good information and thanks to that I’m getting closer to the goal šŸ™‚

Atm, I’m using my own mailserver that I run on my laptop & use my ISP relayhost, however for the receiving of mails I’m using gmail. I still have some issues setting up my mailserver for that, but I guess I’ll get that working soon. When a ticket is created or someone replies on your ticket, you can already receive the reply in your inbox. Also replying on the email is possible and the reply is getting added already to the ticket. However there are still some issues with fetching only the specific reply of the user. Also the code is quite messy because of toying around with it.

Next week I have to clean up my mailing code a bit and get the correct fetching done! I didn’t show my current way of how it’s handled yet to Botanic, so that’s what I’m going to do next and then I’ll probably improve it with his remarks. šŸ™‚

Quitta

Leave a comment